Book Ends

As it turns out I’m kind of a nerd, I like good literature, science fiction, super heroes, and the like (those of you who have not been able to figure this out from previous blog posts, or knowing me, are officially banned from the planet; I’m allergic to stupidity and you are contributing to my symptoms). Being a nerd, especially a book nerd, I have a ton of books and therefore have needed bookends for several years now. Proper bookends are not the kind of thing you just buy. You cannot go into a bookend store and just find the right book ends. That is something that is going to go on your shelf next your books and whatever other precious things you keep on your bookshelf. So every time I go into a bookstore or furniture store I look for “the right” bookends (I’m telling you it is more difficult to find bookends that fit your personality than it is to find a soulmate, I assume). And I have found a couple of good bookends that would have worked. There was the daschund bookend that reminded me of my dog Lightning…

Image

 

… and the Lord of the Rings bookends. I even saw once a dragon and dragon slayer bookends. None of them were quite right though, the dragon slayer was male, the daschund was a long hair (Lightning had short hair), and the Lord of the Rings one cost a million dollars. All major problems for me I these book ends are going to go next to my Chronicles of Narnia collection, reading lamp, and other precious things. They have to be perfect and less than a million dollars because they just have to be. 

A few days ago I was at Hobby Lobby and found several giant chess pieces in red and black that were three dollars each. They were roughly paperback sized wooden figurines but I thought they were pretty cool. I would have bought them all and made a giant chess set but they only had three pawns and I am not much of a chess player so that would have been useless anyway (plus the label said they were not meant to be used as a toy and games, even the game of kings fall into the “toy” column). I am also not a king so what would I have done with a giant game of kings (or thrones)?

Look at me…

Image

I am definitely not a king.

But there were two castles. One in black and one in red and a little light bulb went off in my head and at the exact same time my conscience (Jimminey Cricket) sitting on my shoulder said “Those would be awesome bookends.”

They were in the colors of my college (which are also some of my favorite colors to wear because they look fantastic on me) and they castles! So it is like a chess piece and a castle all at the same time. Perfect! I bought them because I am impulsive and irresponsible with my money and used them to make a pair of bookends. 

Sorry there are no pictures of them yet because I lost my camera charger and am waiting for my new one to arrive from amazon which may or may not ever happen. 

I took a couple of old metal bookends from the 80’s that are not meant for looks just to hold up your books and spray painted one black and one right. In a twist of fate I paired the now black bookend with the red castle by super gluing them together. It turned out so beautifully I had to continue! I super glued the black castle to the red bookend. Smart thinking right? I thought so. Once they were dry I placed them on my shelf with some books and the quest was officially over. That is pretty much the most exciting that has happened in my life in the last 2 months. ENJOY!

On an unrelated note an ad for Christian Mingle just came on tv and I want to tell all of you that if I cannot meet people organically I do not deserve to have friends. Consider and discuss.

Leave a comment