The Selction in Review

Now that I have officially and actually finished reading The Selection series by Kierra Cass, I would like to share my opinion on it (you can trust me, my degree is in English).
I found the whole series to be insipid wish fulfillment on the part of the author.

  
Now let me tell you a quick story. About a year ago I started reading The Selection. A lot of my friends had read it and called it “adorable” and “amazing.” I didn’t see it could do any harm to my brain to read something “adorable” and “amazing” so I checked it out from the library. About a third of the way through reading “the one” my copy of Winter by Marissa Meyer showed up and I couldn’t be bothered to read anything else.

Unfortunately, after reading winter I could not bring myself back to “the one” without wanting to vomit. The whole thing is too sickeningly sweet and predictable and I could not do it. I had to get some distance before I could give it another go.

Yesterday I picked up the audiobook so I would have something to listen to while I tackled my 29 item weekend to do list.

After finishing the book I stand by my 2 star review on goodreads and I’m about to tell you why.

Oh, P.S. This post is going to contain some spoilers so buckle up.

So the basic plot of the series is this; there’s a prince, he has to find a wife, girls from every province are selected and they play a high stakes version of the bachelor. There is also a rebellion and some political intrigue. Which, incidentally, leads me to my first point.

Why the HELL does one of the rebellions not want to overthrow the monarchy that has a long history of abuse? Oh no they support the monarchy they just also want elected officials. BULLSHIT! The only reason the author did not dissolve the monarchy at the end of the series was because they wanted our plucky, rise of the proletarian, heroine to be a princess in the end. Yuck, I just got a cavity thinking about it. If you want America to be a princess in the end that is fine, just don’t make the monarchy currently and historically abusive.

On a related note, I found the fact that she named her freedom fighting heroine America a little heavy handed.

I’m not saying that I hated every minute of these books, some of it was most enjoyable (like eating cake for breakfast) but jeeze Louise lady, pick a theme! Was it love? Was it self acceptance? Was it freedom? I wish I knew.

I also found the books boringly predictable. I could call every twist 10 pages before it happened, including the final rebel attack. I get it, the books were for teens but come on Cass have a little respect for your readers.

In fact, the only surprise I did not see coming was the murder of Celeste, which in hindsight I think I should have. 

I found the whole thing to be insipid wish fulfillment and could have been much better. That being said, if you are looking for a book to read that is a little like eating whipped cream, this is probably the book for you. It was adorable with only a few cringe-worthy moments.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

